Fly!

“The cage door is open. Fly away bird. Fly away!”

It is a soothing husky voice, a mantra in my head
It is the first voice I hear when I wake, the sweet words that send me to sleep everyday
He is enshrouded in mystery, I can’t make out his features
“Set me free” is always my maxim whispered response

If you are a bird, I am a bird
Let’s be eagles so we may soar far and wide.
Our wings may be a little burned, our feathers thoroughly ruffled
But we can do this, and garner more strength than we could ever fathom.

If you are a mortal human, however, am still a bird
Some mortals were inexplicably birthed to fly.
Tigers don’t lose sleep over the opinion of sheep;
Birds don’t lose sleep over the opinion of the meek.

Run, run, little birdie, run from reality
The skies are home to gems like you, and beautiful souls like you, are free
The man in the moon is the friend to whom you may flee
The cage door is open. Fly away bird. Fly away!

…but who will bring happiness to my captor if I leave him so..I muse brokenly

Leave a Reply

